Excuse Me While I Obsess About Greens

P1010934

Greens can be happily worked into any meal of the day.

Since receiving my first farm bundle from SavRaw last week, I’ve been eating a lot of greens and loving it.  Like my mom, I prefer cooked greens to salads.

I wanted to see if we’d (we being 99% me) use up a farm bundle in a week, and I am out of everything but the cilantro two days before the next pick up which, sadly, I opted out of. I’m doing the every-other-week option.  I may have to change that.

You can see that I started thinking out of the box.  Greens for breakfast, lunch and dinner, though not all on the same day.

One day I poached an egg and had it over simple steamed beet greens with a small slice of whole wheat sourdough bread.  I don’t usually use whole eggs, so this was a real treat.  Wish the yolk had turned out a bit runnier, as I think it would have felt even more decadent.

P1010919

Mixed spinach and collard greens served over faro (Trader Joe’s recently introduced a 10-minute faro), with chilled roasted golden beets and one of the heirloom oranges for lunch.

The greens are left over from last night.

My big tip about greens: steam them lightly in the microwave  before tossing them in a pan with a little olive oil and fresh garlic. It cuts the cooking time and they don’t get over cooked.

P1010942

Tofu and a mixture of red bore kale, spinach and mizuna  stir fried with coconut oil, Chinese five-spice mix, a touch of sesame oil, and Bragg’s Aminos (soy sauce like stuff).  This was dinner and it’s going to be my Monday morning lunch.

I also had steamed greens with a couple of pieces of Morningstar Farms fake bacon crunched up on top, to mimic the way we always ate greens when I was growing up.  It’s coming onto dandelion green season back home in Indiana, and I am missing them a lot, cooked up with bacon and egg and seasoned with a little vinegar.

I’m not vegetarian, I just have a lot of vegetarian meals/days.

10 thoughts on “Excuse Me While I Obsess About Greens

  1. Delicious and beautiful, and healthy, too! Yum. Thanks for the tip on microwaving the greens a bit first.

  2. Annie says:

    Dandelion season may be a bit delayed here. Looking out the window, not a hint of green in sight today…

    • Sundry says:

      Ugh. Sorry to hear it. I’m still debating whether I’m going to be able to get home this spring. We made a mess of dandelion greens at my sister’s last time, but I think it was June. We see greens here sometimes in stores, but they are way bigger than we ever picked them.

  3. kitty says:

    And today everything’s covered with about 4 inches of snow at my house! I know there are daffodil shoots under there tho…I saw them a couple weeks ago! In fact, it’s time to go shovel myself a path to the mailbox! The dandelions won’t fail us…old tried and true friends. (or enemies, I guess…it’s all in how you look at them.)

  4. Sundry says:

    It’s nice to like weeds. Makes life easier. 😀
    Snow, still? Sigh.

  5. seabluelee says:

    I was going to ask if you were a vegetarian, but you anticipated my question. 🙂
    Dandelions are one of my favorite wildflowers, but I’ve never eaten the greens. We ate lots of salad and vegetables, but cooked greens weren’t a part of my family’s culture (unless spinach counts).

  6. Sundry says:

    Sure, we’ll count spinach!
    Dandelion flowers are also edible and delicious. We used to dip them in egg and flower and pan fry them in butter till brown and crisp. Come to think of it, that’s probably a tasty prep for cardboard, but really the flowers come out tasting both nutty and green at the same time.

  7. Well done on using up all but cilantro before the next delivery. Not sure if your box is bigger or smaller than the ones we got last year, but we struggled to finish everything in a week and we are a 2 person household. Still, I look forward to getting it again. Our delivery day was Tuesday and Tuesday was always a great day.

  8. Sundry says:

    It took some focus. Greens with everything! This fortnight I’m a little behind. May make kale chips tonight.

Leave a Reply

