Lesser Evil?

DSC_0262

I am morally conflicted about this salted caramel chocolate cake that I made and took to a potluck. It was insanely tasty.

The thing is, I’m eating more healthily these days, which to me means enjoying more organic veggies, grains and legumes, limiting sugar and cutting way way down on dairy and meat.  But I have this pantry stocked with things that don’t really fit this profile. Like cake mixes I bought on sale, and bleached white flour, etc.

I feel like it’s bad to just waste food–even if it’s sugary food–so I’m trying to use up the stuff in the pantry in a way that spreads the risk around a little.  I took this to a potluck last night, so no one had to eat too much of it.

I added cocoa powder to a yellow cake mix, so the chocolate cake under this was light and not too sweet. The frosting is butter cream made with real butter, raw organic powdered sugar, a touch of whole milk and the secret ingredient: powdered salted caramel hot chocolate mix from Target’s house brand, Archer Farms. The mix is great in coffee, and I thought it might make a great addition to frosting. Wow, did it.

Then I dusted it with cocoa powder, drizzled it with caramel sauce Hdyra gave me for Christmas and sprinkled on a little kosher sea salt. Presentation is often about 25% of the success of a dish, I think.

I don’t know. Maybe this is actually the greater evil, inflicting something so wrong that tastes so right on my friends and coworkers. The leftovers will go to the office tomorrow.

Sorry.

Now I’m going to see what I can do with some lentils and the celery root my pal Weezie gave me at the same potluck at which I tried to kill her with chocolate cake. She resisted the cake, but did have some of the healthier corn muffins I also took. (What can I say, it was a good morning for baking.) They were made from scratch with coarse corn meal, white flour (I know),  olive oil based margarine, coconut oil, soy milk and egg whites.

My friends are nicer to me than I am to them.

10 thoughts on “Lesser Evil?

  1. That is a gorgeous cake! It would kill me NOT to eat it.

  2. RuthG says:

    Looks & sounds super-yummy!

  3. Sundry says:

    It’s fun what you can come up with when you don’t want to go to the store!

  4. kitty says:

    Oh you are wicked! I want some!!

  5. MamaLisa says:

    Damn, one of the drawbacks of working from home. I’m telling myself that when I put my bathing suit on this summer I’ll be happy I missed the delicious cake you baked. Now I need to remove the delicious image from my brain.

  6. Sundry says:

    We have to find a way to get you to miss us!

  7. seabluelee says:

    Oh, my goodness. Just this morning I began writing down everything I eat in order to correct some bad habits I’ve fallen into recently. Now I want cake. This cake. I just wouldn’t want to have to write it down.

Leave a Reply

