Old Dog Learns New Trick Thanks to Ex Libris Anonymous

DSC_0054

Treacy Colbert posted on Facebook about this company Ex Libris Anonymous that recycles old book covers into new journals, and I was charmed.  They not only sell journals made from books that they find ($14.00 each), but they’ll make your old book cover into a new journal for $11.00.

I bought this book for $1.00 at a junk shop a couple of years ago. It was coming apart and some of the illustrations had been cut out. I thought I might cut some of them out myself, but never did.  Better!  I mailed the cover and some choice pages it to Ex Libris Anonymous and about two weeks later I received my new journal.

Email communications with Jacob at Ex Libris Anonymous were a lot of fun, too.  What a cool product and company!  They have a storefront in Portland which I would definitely stop by if I were up there: 916 SE 29th avenue, Portland, Or 97214

 

P1020274

Adorable, right?

P1020275

Originally a gift from good friends of the family?  Honorary aunt and uncle?

P1020277

More salvaged pages.

P1020278

Ah, the blank pages await!  I’ve kept a journal since I was 12, but I have never used an unlined one before.  I am the old dog. This will be my new trick.

Maybe it will encourage me to sketch more in my notebook.   Now I can relax and use up the last one, which is a gorgeous leather Martin Guitar journal Hydra gave me. Many of my old journals are hardbound legal notebooks that cost about $30.00 each these days and are hard to find.  For years I decoupaged them with interesting images.  There are a few blanks in the closet, because I’m like that about some stuff.

10 thoughts on “Old Dog Learns New Trick Thanks to Ex Libris Anonymous

  1. kitwocky says:

    I love, love, love this company. I discovered them on a trip to Portland a few years back and have acquired many of their journals since then, for myself and as gifts. I had no idea they would create journals from customers’ books. This is thrilling news!

  2. I hope to visit this company one day, too! So far I have restrained myself and purchased only one Ex Libris journal (to keep bird-watching notes), but I lust after all the titles Jacob (owner) posts on FB. I love that you had “Tell Me a Story” brought back to life, Sally!

  3. Thanks for the flattering write-up! Sheesh. Color me blushing. I’m always so thrilled to see any activity in my inbox; email, order, request or suggestion. And getting something in the MAIL-mail is even nicer. Thanks for sharing this post with me. I appreciate your support. Truly. Jacob

  4. kitty says:

    Wow! What a neat deal. So how does that work? If you want your own book made into a journal cover do you then lose the book? You do have to send it to them, right?

    • Sundry says:

      Yes, the book is converted into a journal. It’s a little gut wrenching to think about, huh?

      In my case, I didn’t send the the whole book, just the covers and a few pages to be bound in with the new blank pages. But the rest of the old book pages are just loose now. Sigh.

  5. […] a while back I bought a journal from Ex Libris Anonymous and blogged about how cool it was to recycle a beat up old book.  I was a little concerned about using an unlined notebook for the first time since I started […]

  6. […] may recall my delight with my newly upcycled journal from Ex Libris Anonymous, and how I was hoping that freedom from […]

Leave a Reply

