Highway Of the Vice Presidents

DSC_1902

Okay, I admit it.  When I first learned of Indiana’s Highway of the Vice Presidents, which runs through Columbia City, IN,I thought it was funny and a little sad.  But Kitty and I went to the Thomas R. Marshall Museum, and I think I like this guy.

Originator of the quote, “Once there were two brothers: one ran away to sea, the other was elected Vice-President-and nothing was ever heard from either of them again,” he has been called the U.S.’s most cynical vice president.  He took his duties so lightly that he refused to take over when Woodrow Wilson took ill.  Wow.

I’ve ordered a copy of his book, Hoosier Salad.

DSC_1878

Gotta love a town that celebrates its vagabond artists as well as its vice president.  John “Rosebud Slim” Hoffman was known for painting rosebuds on mailboxes, etc, and was a beloved fixture in the area.  There’s even an interesting listing for him in Whitley County and It’s Famil1es 1835-1995 .

DSC_2000

Jeanette does a lovely job of bringing Rosebud Slim to life as an ambassador for the museum.

DSC_1939

A proud moment for the area in the 1940s: they stood up for Shinzu Ohki, the Japanese-American owner of this company and didn’t allow him to be taken to an internment camp!  When soldiers came back from World War II, he hired many of them to work in his factory.  He was also an artist and some of his work hangs in this museum.

DSC_1906

You know I like this, though I’m glad I don’t have to write on it!

DSC_1908

Love the woodcraft in this vintage mp3 player.  (tee hee)

DSC_1953

Scary hat!

DSC_1955

Lace detail on a simple wedding dress.

DSC_1966

The museum houses lots of historical bits and pieces, like this menu for a very fancy restaurant that used to operate in Columbia City.  I think I was there once in the banquet room.  For someone’s graduation party, I want to say.

DSC_1988

Sundry and Kitty on the steps.  We arrived with a group and were some of the last few to leave.  Very friendly museum that’s well worth a stop if you’re in the area.

We have this strange relationship with Columbia City.  It was always the nearest shopping town, where we went every Saturday for supplies and sundries.  Our address used to be Rural Route #3, Columbia City, IN, but the house is actually about a mile over the county line in Noble County, so we all went to school in Wolf Lake and Albion.  It’s the closest thing to a home town I have, having grown up out in the boonies.

2 thoughts on “Highway Of the Vice Presidents

  1. Michael Young says:

    My favorite quote from Marshall came while as Vice-President, serving as President of the Senate after listening to some bloviating Senator drone on and on about “what this country needs…” over and over again, finally adjourned the Senate and quipped dryly “what this country needs is a good 5 cent cigar!”

    When the state put up the signs announcing the “Highway of Vice-Presidents” maybe 10-15 years ago, I took a pic and sent along a note to Michael Moore and he wrote me back marveling at our “highway to mediocrity!”

    • Sundry says:

      It’s funny, I would have attributed that cigar quote to W.C. Fields! 😀 I’m really looking forward to reading Marshall’s book. Maybe there will be more quotable lines.

Leave a Reply

