All the Architecture is Not in France

DSC_2226

There is some amazing architecture in the Midwest.  The Whitley County Jail and sheriff’s residence, built in 1875 (for $34, 486) really makes a statement.

They use it as a haunted house every October, hence the coffins leaning against the front.  Hydra, Kitty, Pegerty and I played inmates there one year when DBeans and KFlight were in high school and we were home at the right time.  It was a blast.

I was actually in here on a police matter in high school.  But that’s a different story.

DSC_2250

Window detail at the old jail.  Believe me, I took a the equivalent of at least three rolls of film of this building alone.  I love it.

As I walked around the cordoned off perimeter with my big camera, I noticed people grinning from every one of the few cars that passed on the street.  People are proud of this place. I hope it doesn’t fall into too much more disrepair.

DSC_2275

The Whitley County Courthouse, built in 1888 and still in use.  The late 1800s must have been an exciting time in this part of the country.  So much prosperity and community building going on.

All 92 of Indiana’s county courthouses are impressive.  It would be fun to do a tour of all of them!

DSC_2314

Too many photos of the courthouse to choose from, but I LOVE this floor.  The glass blocks are lit from inside, providing light to both the floor above and below.

DSC_2295

Detail above the door leading into the courthouse.

Wabash

Wabash County Court house, taken on last year’s visit home.  Just to prove my point a little bit.

DSC_2345

Columbia City’s City Hall, on the courthouse square.  Where I took the written test for my first driver’s license.

Pegs House

My sister’s house, just a few blocks from the courthouse square.  I love these barn-style exteriors. This was built in the 1920s, I believe. This photo was actually taken a few years ago, but I was busy taking artsy close-ups this time around.

DSC_2436

One of the aforementioned artsy distractions at my sister’s house.  Sigh.

12 thoughts on “All the Architecture is Not in France

  1. Wonderful photos! Are you going to tell us the story of the police matter? 😉

  2. kitty says:

    Love it!

  3. Sandy says:

    Wish you could get a sponser and a book deal. I have enjoyed your Id vacation, especially this one.

  4. markrhunter says:

    I never noticed how much the Whitley County Jail resembles the Noble County Jail … only without the coffins.

  5. Jean says:

    Every time we visit Don’s family in Huntington I insist that they drive me around to look at all of the houses and city buildings. If anyone questions why I am traipsing across their lawn to get a better photo, the family just says, “She’s from California”. Everyone seems to understand.
    ps. As I recall, the Huntington Courthouse has a fantastic mosaic of an eagle on the floor of the rotunda.

  6. Sundry says:

    I don’t know if I have ever visited the Huntington County Courthouse! We went to the town a lot for family visits and later for dances at a youth club…like most weekends. Next time I’m there, that’s on my list! Thanks for the photo link!

  7. Peg says:

    Neat little factoid: I’ve seen the dedication speech for the Whitley Co courthouse. Not a penny was owed the day it was dedicated.
    I THOUGHT this might be an older photo of my house–the pear tree has grown–36-40 pears on it right now, and half a dozen on the tree in the back after I did my little fertilization dance this spring, to acquaint the two of them :).

    • Sundry says:

      I was too busy ducking the weather and taking close ups to get a good shot of the whole house this time. I was shocked that I didn’t get one when I went back and looked. Luckily, I’ve been a fan for a long time.

      p.s. I wish I could send you a video of the fertilization dance you are doing in my head. It involves little bits of gauzy fabric and blossoms in your fists and between your teeth.

Leave a Reply

