Home Made Organic Sweetener

DSC_2634

Okay, stick with me for a minute will you?  This involves prunes.

Kitty reminded me recently how much I like stewed prunes.  If you’ve never tried them, they probably sound weird and like a huge bother.  And you probably associate prunes with regularity jokes.

Right, well.  Three or four stewed prunes a day are a lot more fun to swallow than a glass of psyllium husks in water.  And you don’t even really have to stand around stewing them.

I bought organic prunes at Trader Joe’s, put them in a canning jar and poured very hot water over them.  Then I put them in the fridge.  A few hours later, they were plump and tender.  The next day they were even plumper…and tenderer.

You’ll notice, if you try this, that the water gets syrupy with sugars released from the prunes.  It’s sweet and slightly dark tasting in a way I like, so I started using this in my smoothies instead of honey or agave nectar.

It’s just the same sugar I would have had if I had eaten the 25-calorie plum or prune.  It’s organic, because the fruit was organic.   It’s nice because you’re creating two cool things to eat at the same time.

You might even try prune syrup on your pancakes.  Hmm?

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Home Made Organic Sweetener

  1. kitty says:

    Good idea! Why not prune syrup? Gonna try that.

  2. I like prunes but I don’t like to admit it. Prunes need a serious rebrand.

  3. Sundry says:

    They’re doing that, Bunny! Calling them dried plums!

Leave a Reply

