Drawn to Common Objects

P1020631A ceramic skull I brought back from Puerto Escondido.  There were dozens there, but there is only one in my house.

So a while back I bought a journal from Ex Libris Anonymous and blogged about how cool it was to recycle a beat up old book.  I was a little concerned about using an unlined notebook for the first time since I started keeping a journal when I was 13.  But I thought it might help with my desire to draw more in them.

I’m not drawing every time I write, but I like sketching little common things.

P1020632

Reusable plastic Starbucks mug.

Discovered that the paper doesn’t like a lot of ink.

 

P1020633

My glasses.

You may never have seen these because I usually prefer contact lenses.

 

P1020634

One of my beloved Waterman Phileas fountain pens.

They stopped making this popular line, so I am cherishing mine.  I have a few so I can use the bottled ink and always have a spare in case I run out of ink.

All of these were sketched in pencil first, the lines made bolder with that pen pictured above or one like it, then colored with pencils.

I’m using some of the techniques Kitty and I had refreshers on when we took that free art class at The Getty last year.  That was so much fun.

Ooh, I just checked… There’s another class on Sunday July 21st!  And Drawing From Antiquity on Saturday at the Getty Villa.  Check it out!

 

2 thoughts on “Drawn to Common Objects

  1. Jean says:

    Oh, I love that you are drawing. This is something I need to do more of., just for the fun of it. Keep it up. 🙂

  2. Sundry says:

    It does feel good! I drew the pen while I was listening to you play in the Irish sessiun at Butler’s!

Leave a Reply

