Fitbit Zip-ity Doo Dah

DSC_2697

Oh my gosh, is this Fitbit Zip the cutest fitness gadget ever? 

I have all kinds of rationalizations for getting this thing.  The best is that Hydra gave it to me for our anniversary.  There is also the fact that I didn’t renew my gym membership when it expired in May because of a slow-healing knee injury.

What I have learned from my Fit Bit in the first week.

1) I am still highly motivated by a gold-star mentality.

This thing sticks its tongue out at me digitally if I don’t walk enough when it thinks I should.  I want to make it smile.  I want to walk 10,000 steps a day.  So much so that after a really long Saturday I only had a thousand steps to go when I checked just before I was about to hit the sack….so I walked up and down the house till I slightly exceeded my goal.  Hydra wonders what he triggered here!

2) I love that it syncs with my online account and gives details of every little bit of walking I do in 15 minute intervals.  Obsessive much?

3) I like that the word “dongle” is now a part of my life.  As in, insert the dongle into your USB drive to sync your FitBit.

This is not a sentence I could have deciphered when I was in high school.  But I could have diagrammed it within an inch of it’s life.

DSC_2701More than half way there.

4) I like that it’s small enough and sensitive enough to drop into a pocket or attach to my bra so I don’t have  a big lump on my waist band.

5) I’ve discovered that my work neighborhood is really lovely early in the morning.

7) I feel a lot better at the end of the day if I have been able to spread my steps out rather than doing them in one lump.  Man, my job is sedentary if I let it be.

8) I am apparently way more dangerous looking than I thought.  I walked down Toluca Estates Road, which is admittedly marked “Private,” but I was hoping to get a glimpse of the actual lake.  No dice.

Some lady in a huge SUV scowled at me and then apparently called her security service.  The  security service driver waved at me, then passed me when I got back onto Valley Spring.  I walked up to the next intersection and doubled back, as was my original plan, and saw him waiting in the alley where he apparently thought I was headed next.  Sheesh.

Per Google maps, these people don’t have a lake front anyway. Ha!

One thought on “Fitbit Zip-ity Doo Dah

  1. kitty says:

    Whoa! That must have felt weird…having some one scope you out like that!

Leave a Reply

