A Secret Garden

P1020998

In my effort to walk a lot every day, I’ve taken to dipping into the occasional cul-de-sac. There are a lot of them in my work neighborhood, since as I’ve mentioned before, it’s cut up by freeways, studios, and even the Los Angeles River.

This morning I discovered an inviting little path between a house and the back of a studio building (I think).   I was talking to Kitty on my cell at the time and when I told her about the little path, I know she was concerned that I might be going into some dark alley or overgrown homeless den.  Not so much, Kitty!  (But thanks for your concern!)

P1030007

The path in.  How deep does it go?  Will I emerge in the next block?  Will I find a witch’s cabin?

P1030001

Oh…it opens onto this little circle.  It probable took me longer to read the sign than to walk back here.

The path can’t be half a block deep.  But notice the lights on the sturdy posts?  This must be even more charming at night.  To the left, a fence around a house with no door that I could see.  To the left, that big commercial wall, mostly obscured by plants.

P1030003

The tops of the palm trees.  They’ve been here a while.

P1030004

Looking back toward the street, you can see just how short the journey was.  It’s good to take a little leap of faith from time to time.

Thank you, whomever made this place.  I’m sorry you had to post the big disclaimer, but I’m glad you didn’t give up on us fellow humans and left this accessible.

10 thoughts on “A Secret Garden

  1. kitwocky says:

    Wow, cool that the landowner basically invited you in (after waiving all liability, etc.). Could have just put a “keep out” notice instead. Yay.

  2. Sundry says:

    Yes! For some reason, I picture a mature widow who has been warned by everyone that she should brick the place up, just happily defying them all.

  3. Sandy says:

    How neat is this would love to walk it just for the heckmof it.

  4. kitty says:

    Hooray for you girl! Leaps of faith R U.

  5. Las Weezas says:

    I love city walks that include secret shortcuts, pathways, and my favorite: stairways! There is a cool book called stair walks in Los Angeles. IN Santa MOnica Canyon, I took a 3 hour walk once (exhausting for me!) with some Sierra Club friends who are leaders that included “13” staircases in the canyon. Some of them big, some small, I’ve been walking in Santa Monica Canyon doing portions of that walk for years!

  6. Las Weezas says:

    I’m just about to walk to my local bike shop to buy a new bike! I need a way to move that I love, that I can do when my foot is bothering me. Bike riding does not feel like exercise. It feels like being young again.

Leave a Reply

