Let’s Get Roasted!

DSC_2793

Fall colors, foodie-style.

Today I worked at home and my stress relieving break included welcoming autumn’s cooler temperatures by roasting a bunch of veggies.  As much as I’m going to miss all the late summer produce, my heart goes pitty-pat when I think of all the good oven-time I’m going to get in again this winter.

DSC_2794

Veggies, post-roast.

There was also a pan of butternut squash and more cauliflower hearts from the head that I started fermenting today.  I have yet to figure out the cauliflower hearts.  Maybe I need to steam them a bit before putting them in to roast because they never quite cook through, but the browned taste is wonderful.

When I do a mixed batch like this (375 degrees), I usually set the timer for about 20 minutes, when the tomatoes may be ready to come out, and then add another 25 for the longest thing–the butternut squash, in this case.

The Anaheim chilis let you know when they’re ready to come out because they smell wonderful.

 

DSC_2795

Plated deliciousness.

While I feasted, I couldn’t stop roasting.  I threw in the rest of my little red and yellow tomatoes along with a bunch of grapes.  Yes, red grapes, right on the stem.   Turn them once in about 20 minutes.  They become amazingly sweet and their flavor deepens.

The chili is stuffed with a rice/mushroom/artichoke heart/garbanzo bean melange I made earlier.  Mmmm.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Let’s Get Roasted!

  1. kitwocky says:

    Wow – looks wonderful!!

  2. Sundry says:

    Packed myself a nice lunch in my new Pyrex g-boxes. 😀

  3. kitty says:

    Ha! I love not only the great photos but also the inspiring commentary. You are so funny. The pitty-patting heart, the plated deliciousness, etc! hee hee hee

  4. Reblogged this on Jazz Kitchen and commented:
    One of my favorite things about Fall – roasting!

  5. Las Weezas says:

    You make everything look so inviting. Lately I’ve been stir frying which I like a lot. Roasting sounds easier really. But I have given up the “steaming is healthier” …… darn it, I just LIKE stir frying better. At least i’m eating vegetables!

    • Sundry says:

      Stir frying is good! I’m sure you don’t use tons of oil. Roasting is really easy…you just have to be sure not to leave the veggies in til they shrivel!

Leave a Reply

