Not a Photo of Bob Hope’s House

P1030039

I’d just like to say that my handwriting is often much neater than this.  I wasn’t thinking about posting these little drawings from my notebook when I did them.  I was thinking about how I walked all over Toluca Lake taking photographs on a morning with beautiful light, unaware that I’d left the media card on my desk.  This is the digital version of running out of film.

P1030040

In the nicer parts of Toluca Lake people sometimes look at little old me with a degree of suspicion, especially when I have my little Lumix point-and-shoot camera out.  I decided to carry the big Nikon so I could get a good shot of the gates with the big Hs on them at Bob Hope’s former estate.  A couple of times when I encountered residents, I made a point to take some shots of the newborn sun peeking through the eucalyptus branches.

P1030041

The gates at the Hope place are not visible from Moorpark Street address.  But you can see a little of the roof.  Sigh.

Anyway, thanks to Katy for posting on Facebook about this house going up for sale.

P1030037

Bonus sketch.  Dodger often naps on my knee or on Hydra’s in the evening.  Comfy in the middle of the flock.

2 thoughts on “Not a Photo of Bob Hope’s House

  1. kitwocky says:

    This is hilarious. And awesome. And hilariously awesome. Love it.

    I was intrigued by the info on the Hope estate, and also found this, if you want more pics (including those very cool gates):

    http://guests.themls.com/Details/CA/TOLUCA-LAKE/10346-MOORPARK-ST/91602/13-706429.aspx

Leave a Reply

