Dear Oregon, Your Juncoes Have Arrived. Thank You.

DSC_3615

I think this is a female Oregon Junco, a variety of the Dark Eyed Junco.  They show up here for the winter every year.  Always good to see them.

It’s been hard to get good shots so far due to bad light conditions and dirty windows.  I am helpless in the face of both of these challenges.

DSC_3612

Possibly a male. Or not. Possibly the same bird in a different position. Who can know for sure?

The main way to tell the difference, from what I gather, is their stance.  The male tends to hold itself less upright than the female.

Slacker.

6 thoughts on “Dear Oregon, Your Juncoes Have Arrived. Thank You.

  1. kitwocky says:

    I adore Juncoes! I was quite happy to find that we have them year-round here (or so I’ve been told). I always awaited their arrival each year in LA eagerly.

    • Sundry says:

      How cool! I wonder why some of them migrate and some don’t ! Like people, maybe.

      • kitwocky says:

        That’s an excellent question, and I don’t have the answer! I did just do some research, and the Junco is “common” year-round here, as I was told. It also said that the males have the darker hoods, and the females and juveniles have a lighter, gray hood. I love birds.

  2. kitty says:

    I’m sure Oregon was glad to hear from you concerning the Juncos! I really need to find out where ours come from! But very much later…they usually arrive in Indiana in January.

  3. Dona Robinson says:

    Male Dark-eyed Junco have a black hood
    Females and juveniles have a grey hood

  4. Sundry says:

    See more, that’s what I thought, Dona and Kitwocky, but I let some Internet interloper sway me. I think I have a shot of a female around here somewhere…

Leave a Reply

