The Veg and Nothing but the Veg

DSC_3710

My first attempt at something like an eggplant Parmesan without the Parmesan and with a lot more veggies.  I really liked it and will make it again.  It’s very loosely patterned on a much more elegant version I had at The Beverly Hills Hotel last month.

I made my own sauce by sauteing 3 cloves of garlic, a quarter of a green bell pepper and a small onion in a tiny amount of olive oil spray in a deep skillet. When the onions were translucent I added a 28 ounce can of tomatoes, a half teaspoon of fennel seeds, teaspoon of dried basil and teaspoon of dried oregano.  Simmered it for about 20 minutes.

Then I fished the bell pepper and some of the onion out with a slotted spoon so I’d have them in chunks.  Transferred the sauce to a 4 cup Pyrex measuring cup (nice and deep) and pureed it with my hand blender.

In the meantime, I thawed a package of Trader Joe’s frozen grilled eggplant and zucchini and washed off all the oil that was clotted on it.  Next time I’ll make my own eggplant and zucchini strips in the oven, but I wanted a quick fix this time.

Sliced 8 ounces worth of  fresh mushrooms and microwaved them till they were cooked.  Drained the mushroom juice off and froze it for later.

Then I layered sauce, zucchini, eggplant and mushrooms in a 9×11 pan with sauce between each layer and on top and baked it for about 40 minutes in a 350 degree oven.

Wow, it’s really good!  No cheese, no cheese substitute, no meat, no faux meat.  Just veggies and spices.  MMMM. Four hearty servings, and it freezes really well.

4 thoughts on “The Veg and Nothing but the Veg

  1. kitwocky says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this. Sounds delicious! Yum.

  2. kitwocky says:

    Just shared on fb…

  3. brian says:

    amazing, thank you!

Leave a Reply

