Happy Birthday, House!

HOuseHouse, Dad, me, Brian, Prince (the Collie/St. Bernard mix), summer 1967.

Today’s the day in 1960 that my family moved into the new house they built on the land they’d been living on for nine years.  I arrived about six weeks later to take up residence. Apparently, there would have been a nice back porch if they hadn’t found out they were getting a new baby during the planning stages.

House 2

House, Dad, grill, me (8) on a banana seat bike with what looks like a peeled willow branch in my hands, 1969.  I love this house.  Nice layout, designed by Kitty.  Built in stainless steel stove top and oven.  Trez moderne in 1960!

House 3

House, me (9), Ginger (the best-friend mutt-o’-my youth), Kim Martin.  I would love to get in touch with Kim.  She had ponies!  I rode one of them into the lake and it swam.  Top lifetime memory.

Kitty started the celebration tradition on the first anniversary of moving into our house. It was always the beginning of the holiday season for us.  We received gourmet food treats (or in my case a jar of maraschino cherries!) and an ornament by our plate at the special dinner…with CAKE!

Still think of it every year.  Thanks House!  Thanks Family!

 

6 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, House!

  1. kitwocky says:

    Oh how I adore your trips down memory lane and these glimpses into your glorious childhood. And may I recommend the Trader Joe’s Morello Cherries in honor of your house’s big day?!?

  2. kitty says:

    OH! I forgot the birthday…all day! Thanks for the reminder…I’ll go have a cup of hot chocolate in honor! ….or maybe it should be a glass of wine? (And thanks, little girl, for coming to live with us!)

  3. Such a sweet remembrance. I love the photos of your blonde self, Sally!

Leave a Reply

