What Shakes in Bakes

P1000044

We’re just having mad fun at the antiques shops in downtown Bakersfield, aka “Bakes.”  Took a leisurely drive up there because Hydra had a hankering for Basque food. I filled up on cabbage soup, beans and salad at The Wool Growers Restaurant

P1000040

Yes, it gets hot out here in the San Joaquin Valley.

P1000042

I agree, the squirrel must be restrained.

P1000072

Sometimes the juxtaposition of stuff is amusing.

P1000066

Doot, doot, doot.  Just one of the guys.

P1000060

Hydra used to use one of these during a stint as a night watchman.  A clock and key device that would prove he’d made his rounds all over the factory.

P1000082

One shop has a full sized stuffed grizzly bear. Another has a full sized stuffed bison.  This is the classy version of all that, a little further up 19th Street.

4 thoughts on “What Shakes in Bakes

  1. I’m going to have to go there to fetch the haloed Jesus in His pickup. Wonderful post!

  2. Sundry says:

    Thanks, Treacy. I didn’t even notice Jesus till I started to frame a photo of the truck. I think I gasped out loud when I raised my camera and saw that!

  3. kitty says:

    Hee hee hee….always the fun and funny blogs! Looks like it was an interesting day in Bakes!

Leave a Reply

