Xīn Nián Kuài Lè! = Happy Lunar New Year!

P1000294May you sip from the spoon of happiness all year long.

Welcome to the Year of the Horse!

This is my favorite thing I own that has a horse image on it. A little porcelain spoon. Can you imagine? Based on writings from my childhood, I completely expected to have a horse ranch by the time I was 30. This did not come to pass. We do have some horses as neighbors, though.  Does that count?

Feeling a bit wistful this year because I only had time to mail a few Christmas cards this year before going to Indiana, and I thought I would make up for it by sending out New Years cards.  Then I thought surely I would make some nice Lunar New Year cards by today and get them out… Not so much.

So if you are usually on the list and you’re wondering if you were dropped, you weren’t. But maybe you will receive a nice Valentine’s Day or St. Patrick’s Day card.

I’m a little confused by the Chinese Zodiac. I always thought I was an Ox, but I just put my birthday in this sign-finder and it says I am Earth Chicken born in the year of the White Rat.  What’s your sign?

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Xīn Nián Kuài Lè! = Happy Lunar New Year!

  1. That is a beautiful spoon! Thanks for the link to the sign finder. It says I’m born in the year of the Red Monkey, and that I’m a White Snake. I played with that band in the 80s. 😉

Leave a Reply

