The Birds and the Bees

DSC_4938

Out in the back yard reading a draft of my friend Shari’s novel and watching the birds.  Finches on a date.

DSC_4931

House finch in the apricot tree.

DSC_4939

This hummer was totally flirting with me, popping up from behind the hedge, buzzing around in the shadows.  But I did get this!

DSC_4923

Bees!  So many that I could hear them buzzing together as they enjoyed the early blooms. Yay, bees!

DSC_4945

It is so hard to get a shot of the shy junco. He blends right in with the seeds!

DSC_4959

Quoth the raven, “Wrah wrah wrah wrah wrah!”

DSC_4967

Taking off.

DSC_4968

And, no, being a raven is not all elegance all the time.

DSC_4925

p.s. How do you like this super spy shot?  The neighbor set up a target on the fire road behind his house, about 30 feet as the crow flies from where I was sitting. Some sort of annoying air gun. Wiffft- thunk!

I just barely refrained from running over there and whacking him over the head with a copy of the community Covenants Conditions and Restrictions. I am pretty sure that target practice in the neighborhood is out, let alone on community property.

Okay, deep breath. Back to the birds and the bees, and the six bunnies I saw in the yard earlier today…two of whom had relations right outside the library window.

8 thoughts on “The Birds and the Bees

  1. Beautiful photos! How nice to have bird companionship while you read. . .

  2. seabluelee says:

    Wow, it really does sound like spring has arrived there. I enjoyed these photos – I do miss all the birds. I’m not seeing much wildlife these days except for squirrels or at least their tracks in the fresh snow. (There’s more on the way for tomorrow.)

  3. Sundry says:

    I was thinking of your L.A. bird shots, kitwocky!

  4. jjones says:

    Nice shots.

Leave a Reply

