Daughter of a Gun

Dad Bud

Yeah, that’s my dad with the lock of hair down over his forehead, goofing around while fixing a car. His father on the left, his best friend on the right. What a pistol!

Today would have been his birthday. I’ve been writing about his last year, and it’s been kind of hard.  It’s difficult to capture everything about him. He was a gregarious wit, well-liked, admired in our corner of Noble County, Indiana.  Also, like most fathers, difficult to live with at times. It’s hard to get all that into a piece of writing.

Dad Grad-001

Voted Cutest, Class of 1946. So much ahead of him at that point.

He only lived to be 62.  Wow, that seems young now.

Still miss you, Dad, after all these years.  You would love the grandkids and great grandkids. They’re amazing.

4 thoughts on “Daughter of a Gun

  1. Michael Young says:

    I love the Wolf Lake letter sweater! I think my Uncle Dick was also class of 46.

    • Sundry says:

      Oh cool! I think we had some Wolf Lake High memorabilia, and maybe Dad’s letter sweater, that burned up in our garage fire around 1968. Sigh. Loved the black and gold!

  2. Wonderful remembrance for your dad’s birthday, Sally. I loved seeing the photos. No wonder he was voted “Cutest.”

  3. Sundry says:

    I can just imagine those two boys rambling around in my dad’s Model A. I guess he decorated the inside with fringe, etc.

Leave a Reply

