The Prairie Ecologist – Photo of the Week – February 27, 2014

I don’t know if I have ever reblogged a post before, but this one is too gorgeous not to share. Thanks to Chris Helzer for posting on his blog, The Prairie Ecologist.  Click on “View Original”  to see the rest of his amazing photos.

The Prairie Ecologist

For a nature photographer like me, Nebraska winters can get pretty long.  Especially winters like this one with very little snow.  How many photos of brown grass and dried flowers can I take, after all?  I don’t have the equipment or patience to photograph wildlife very well, so I’m kind of stuck with landscapes and close-up photos.

Well, a guy’s gotta photograph something…  While I was visiting my in-laws in Sarpy County, Nebraska (south of Omaha) last weekend, I decided to challenge myself to find something interesting to photograph within the small restored prairies on their property.  I guess you’ll have to judge whether or not I was successful.

Indiangrass.  Weiss Acres - Sarpy County, Nebraska. Indiangrass (Sorghastrum nutans).  Weiss Acres – Sarpy County, Nebraska.

.

A false sunflower seed head is backlit by the setting sun.  A false sunflower (Heliopsis helianthoides) seed head is backlit by the setting sun.

.

The double helix pattern of an open partridge pea seed pod. The double helix pattern of an open partridge pea (Chamaecrista fasciculate) seed pod.

View original post 50 more words

Leave a Reply

