Dun Dun Dun…DUN-DUN!

P1000467

Yes.  Yes, I did.  I sang “Thus Spake Zarathustra” as my new computer came to life.

Here it is set up on my vintage Formica table in the bay window of my workspace/studio. Hydra pointed out that I could leave my old computer, which still limps along, set up while I get to know Windows 8 and transfer all the really good stuff.  I’ve been wanting to experiment with facing the window rather than the wall for a while. The only issues are the amount of light and the dust when I open the windows.

The new computer is nothing fancy, but has more storage, as is always the case with new computers. The big 23″ monitor, though, is for photo editing and for having two documents up side by side.  The new color printer is a bit more than basic.

Wow, our first computer, way back in 1988 cost five times more and had a 3 megabyte hard drive. Fancy!

4 thoughts on “Dun Dun Dun…DUN-DUN!

  1. seabluelee says:

    Congratulations! Technology has come a long way, hasn’t it? I seem to spend about the same amount of money each time I buy a new computer, but I get oh, so much more for that money now than I did way back when. I hope you’ll post more about your experience with Windows 8 after you’ve tried it for a while.

    • Sundry says:

      I can do that. So far, just having used it to download software and load drivers, it’s a bit disorienting. Every so often I stumble into a screen that looks exactly like Windows 7, and then boink! I’m out of it again. And some of my favorite photo software may not work with it.

  2. markrhunter says:

    Yep — my first computer, a Mac Performa, came around 1989 and had a 4 gig hard drive. Now I’ve got a phone that holds 16 gigs!

Leave a Reply

