Bread… It’s Alive!

P1000511

Wow, I found a simple, easy whole wheat bread recipe in My Beef With Meat  by Rip Esselstyn. You can store it for five days in the fridge and have fresh bread when you want it.  I probably will make a half recipe next time. The dough almost overflowed the bowl.

I’ve never really made bread because of all the kneading, etc. I tried a few times and ended up with something like stone. This honestly takes a little over 5 minutes to assemble and mix, and then you let it sit for 2-3 hours to rise.  That’s it!

P1000516

Fresh from the oven.  A mini-loaf of bread made with whole grain wheat flour, yeast, salt, almond milk, water and maple syrup. 

P1000518

Moist and delicious!  I adjusted the baking time a bit because the time in the recipe was for a full sized loaf.  I’m not posting the recipe because the authors haven’t, and I’m going to respect that in a public forum.  Email me if you want it.  You can add walnuts and dates, or make pizza crust, or bread sticks, or bread with it. Wow!

P1000520

I put some OMG Walnut Spread on it, from the same cookbook.  Plant strong fabulousness.

P1000525

It’s alive!  I’ll bet the guy who dreamed up The Blob, had a mother who baked her own bread. Guess I need to rethink storage.  Or use it faster!

P1000532

I have to say that using the bread as a pizza crust is highly successful!  It came out very crisp on the bottom and held up well when I reheated it the next day. I have been off meat and cheese for almost a month and I didn’t miss the oily goo at all. This is my long time favorite combo of toppings: mushrooms, artichoke hearts and soy sausage, with home made sauce.

 

4 thoughts on “Bread… It’s Alive!

  1. kitwocky says:

    Yum, yum and yum!!!!!! What a versatile recipe!

  2. kitty says:

    This looks wonderful…I think I can smell it! ummm

Leave a Reply

