Unfaded Memories

P1000618

We took down the photo collage hanging nearest the sliding glass door at Kitty’s house to see if we could rescue any of the photos.  Sadly, a lot of them are beyond saving.

Luckily, the memories are clearer than the images.

My brother, Brian, passed away around 8:00 a.m. on Friday, April 11, 2014, the day before his 61st birthday. I feel that I need to commemorate it here, but I don’t have a lot to say yet (writing this on 4/22/2014) except that he never complained and stayed surprisingly strong until the end. He had Parkinson’s and spinal stenosis.

I am so lucky to have spent his last day with him, a normal day during which we played Acquire, ate Chinese take-out, talked and watched a little TV.  He had just entered home-hospice six days earlier.

P1000745

A photo he saved of himself in his early twenties. Couldn’t get the photos out of the album…stuck!

P1000737

There were lots of concert tickets in his photo albums including the one for America, which he took my friend Annabahabek and I to.  We were fourteen!  I notice he didn’t save the stub from my first concert…The Carpenters.  Probably took me under duress.

Brian helped me develop my taste in music. “You can’t really say you like a band unless you listen to their albums.”  I bought mostly albums rather than 45s and talked him into liking Jim Croce better than he would have if I hadn’t argued that there was a lot more to him than “Leroy Brown” and “You Don’t Mess Around with Jim.”  Be careful what you teach the young ones, they’re likely to bring it right back to you.

Miss you, brother.

 

8 thoughts on “Unfaded Memories

  1. kitwocky says:

    Thinking about you. xo

  2. Annie says:

    Is that a veedub he is sitting in?

    • Sundry says:

      I don’t know. It looks like one, doesn’t it? I don’t think anyone in the family owned one that color, but he was a car fan. Most of the album is shots of his Mustang in a hay field!

  3. jjones says:

    You don’t mention his family. Did he have a wife and kids? I hope they are doing okay and relishing his memories. It will be a very tough time for them.

  4. seabluelee says:

    I’m so sorry for the loss of your brother. 61 is far too young. My thoughts are with you and the family. (I’ll bet you could do a lot to restore those photos with Photoshop or something similar.)

  5. Sandi says:

    So very sorry for your loss and am glad you got to be with him for his final days on earth. He will live on in your heart.

  6. Weens says:

    Hadn’t seen this until now. I love the photo of your brother. He seems so young, so happy, so in the moment. I have to think this is who Brian is again after his passing. And probably listening to your sweet voice singing so beautifully as you do.

Leave a Reply

