Whole Wheat Maple Bread with a Fruity Twist

DSC_5816Spread the dough out so that the narrow sides are just long enough to fit in a bread loaf pan.

Back to the bread recipe I posted about a while back, from My Beef With Meat by Rip Essylstyn.  This time with a twist!  It honestly takes just a few minutes to make the bread dough.  You let it sit for two hours and then you can use it or put it in the fridge to use on another day. Wow.  I made the dough one night and the bread the next.  The recipe says you can mix in raisins and walnuts.  I thought it would be more impressive to add a vein of filling rather than just random bits of extras.  Took a chance, because I was going to serve this to The Harmonistas without testing it first!

DSC_5817

Spread a mixture of chopped fruit and nuts on the inside, leaving enough room at the edges to close off the vein of filling.  The filling here is about 1/2 cup each of chopped prunes and walnuts in just enough maple syrup (2 Tbs?) to coat them. I didn’t have raisins or the time to go get any.

DSC_5818

Roll up the dough, being careful not to tear it.  I tore mine, but I just pinched off a little dough from other places and patched it.  It will smooth out a bit in the cooking.

DSC_5819

The raw loaf in the pan.  See how it’s swirled at the end?  I added three walnut halves as decoration.  Never underestimate the power of presentation when food is involved!

DSC_5823

The finished loaves!  I made a plain one, too, and took a jar of blueberry preserves for The Harmonistas’ rehearsal meal, just in case!

DSC_5825

Doesn’t that look yummy!?  And it is!  I would think that dried apricots, etc., might also be good inside this.  All whole foods.  Leave me a comment or email me if you want the recipe for the basic dough.

Yay!  I’m beginning to be able to play with the recipes with this new way of cooking. It hasn’t been all smooth sailing, but I am finding my way.

 

6 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Maple Bread with a Fruity Twist

  1. This looks delicious!

    • Sundry says:

      I may have to make some for our next meeting! I am also thinking about a savory version in which the swirl is peppers, onions, garlic and eggplant.

  2. kitty says:

    Can’t wait to try these new ideas….and I have yet to make a regular loaf! (Today, I swear.)

    • Sundry says:

      Ha! I used the same recipe yesterday to make single serving pizzas for The Harmonistas rehearsal lunch. The crust turned out a bit too thick, but that was operator error!

  3. seabluelee says:

    Your swirled loaf looks very impressive! I’d love to have that basic dough recipe.

Leave a Reply

