Brave New Numbers

P1010021

 Giving myself a gold star(fruit) today!

You may recall that back on March 12th I posted about starting a 28-day challenge to eating a whole foods plant-based way of life based on the ideas put forth in Forks Over Knives and Engine 2 Diet/My Beef With Meat. It also helped that my HMO, Kaiser Permanente, is giving out a pamphlet that recommends following these guidelines and eliminating meat and dairy.

I knew at the time that it was going to be a more than 28-day commitment because I’d already started it and felt really good, and because my doctor had ordered another blood panel for after the end of April.

My total cholesterol was 269 back in January when I was last tested. Now it’s 169!  Drug free!

I know these numbers aren’t perfect, but they are SO much better than they have been for years. More flax, I think will help.

I’m feeling so optimistic about this. I love the food I’m eating and I have figured out how to deal with social situations without becoming a nuisance or a bore (about my food choices, anyway.) If you see me socially, and find this not to be true, PLEASE let me know!
Oh, and p.s. : Down from 174 pounds to 163!
Component Standard Range Your Value
CHOLESTEROL <=199 mg/dL 169
TRIGLYCERIDE <=149 mg/dL 142
HDL >=40 mg/dL 33
LDL CALCULATED <=99 mg/dL 108
CHOLESTEROL/HIGH DENSITY LIPOPROTEIN <=4.2 5.1
CHOLESTEROL, NON-HDL 136
10 thoughts on “Brave New Numbers

  1. Good for you! Fantastic changes in relatively little time. Kaiser ought to hire you to teach others how to do it!

    • Sundry says:

      I could help! The nutritionist who taught the class that was supposed to include info on vegan choices pretty much bad mouthed it and was hostile to my questions about plant based sources of Omega-3s rather than salmon oil. Sigh.

  2. RuthG says:

    Way to go! That’s fantastic!

  3. Sandi says:

    So happy that a plant-based diet is working for you. Stay plant strong!

    • Sundry says:

      Thanks, Sandi! The Forks Over Knives Support 2 group that you help facilitate on Facebook is SO helpful. One of the friendliest places anywhere to share info and tips.

  4. seabluelee says:

    Congratulations! I don’t know what you consider perfection, but those sound like pretty awesome results to me.

  5. Sundry says:

    Thanks, seabluelee. Actually, the HDL needs to go up over 40 and the LDL needs to go down a little more. But I think it will happen with the inclusion of flax seeds and more exercise. Going to the orthopedist about my knee again next week… 😀

  6. glutenfreeveganduo says:

    This is great! Keep it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

