Peachy Keen!

DSC_6459

Maybe I shouldn’t have given you a hint. This is my still life of a bowl with peaches in it.  Hydra guessed it was a pomegranate when I brought it home. 

I have a lot to learn about mixing color and managing my palette, but it’s also fun to just jump right in with Silvina Day‘s help. 

I tend to make these really big blotches of color spread out all over. A more experienced person in the workshop worked from smaller blotches. I keep thinking I’m going to need a lot of one color. Not so much, most of the time.

I kind of want to go back to black and white. Or, then again, to do something kind of bold and almost cartoon-y on my own. What’s stopping me?  I have the supplies and even a cool travel tabletop easel I could set up in the house, but what about the potential mess.  Last night I knocked over my whole jar of Turpenoid (a less smelly turpentine replacement) on the workshop table. Silvina was grace personified. It really didn’t matter and we cleaned it up.

That wouldn’t be the case in my carpeted studio/office/guest room. Hmmm…maybe the table out on the deck, though!

2 thoughts on “Peachy Keen!

  1. seabluelee says:

    Yeah, the fear of making a mess holds me back a lot, too. How about covering the carpet with a big dropcloth? (I’m really talking to myself!)

Leave a Reply

