Tomato Love

DSC_6487

 

That moment when you’re making lunch and you have to stop and photograph it….

 

 

DSC_6484

 You just don’t get tomatoes like this from a grocery store. I missed putting in a garden this year, so I bought these from Blum Ranch, right across the valley from us.

I was looking for another batch of peaches. Sadly, they are very small this year, and they were selling lugs for under $10.00. Good price, but not the big beauties they usually have. Not the sort of thing I usually enjoy taking everywhere I go all summer. I bought a small basket of their O Henrys.

“We need rain, huh?” I said to the family member behind the counter.

“Yes, we do,” she said, smiling apologetically. It’s going to be a long summer.

 

DSC_6494

The rest of my lunch: black beans with pico de gallo salsa mixed in and steamed cherimoya squash.  I like spice, but it’s also nice just to experience the veggies as they come.

My sister, Pegerty, gave us these sweet little bowls for Christmas and not a day goes by without us using at least one of them.  They are the perfect size… a little over a cup.

 

4 thoughts on “Tomato Love

  1. DeeAnna says:

    I was in the kitchen preparing my supper (a tomato sandwich and 2 ears of sweet corn), stopped and took a picture as I was thinking my next fb post should be some sort of tribute to fresh veggies as the season would be over soon. I finished my meal and sat down at my computer and this was the first post that popped up. Going to be a sad day when I have to start buying produce from the grocery again.

    • Sundry says:

      Yes, celebrate the veggies! I am very much missing my own homegrown veggies, but am lucky to have a good local source. Only $1.25 a pound for these.

  2. Sandi Gamage says:

    My mouth is watering just looking at those beautiful tomatoes!

Leave a Reply

