Cue the Sexy Pumpkin Music

CAM00229

Orange is kind of glorious, isn’t it?

Please forgive the cell phone photos, but last night we had so much fun painting sexy reclusive pumpkins, I wanted to get shots of all three to share with you. Silvina set the pumpkin up in a box with a light shining down on it, which made for a very different effect than just a light.

This first one is mine. It was really fun to work on. This week I realized a mistake on my own and just fixed it. It had to do with the curve of one of the lines. I could see in the last half hour or so of the workshop that I was not going to be happy with it when I got it home, so I corrected it, and if you didn’t know where to look I don’t think you could tell.

Every once in a while I’m painting and something goes  particularly right and it’s exhilarating. I kind of yelped at one point when I saw that some contouring was working. I still have a lot to learn. So fun.CAM00226

Annie used a lot of different colors in hers, while mine is basically variations of orange. Thsi is something I see her and Silvina doing, and I want to understand it more.

CAM00225

Silvina’s is perhaps the most moody of all. One might say that it lurks! She did a great job on the stem, which was kind of fabulous and complex.

CAM00228

The real deal.  Actual pumpkin. In a cardboard box. The sexy and romantic aspects were provided by the artists, right?

This was taken straight on in front of the pumpkin, so it’s not really at the same angle as any of our paintings.

At the end of the evening, we were commenting on how we all look at the same thing and come up with something different.  It’s like that with writers and writing prompts. I always find it so cool to start out at the same point and see what everyone comes up with. Infinite possibility.

Thanks to Annie and Silvina for letting me post these pix!  It’s wonderful working with you.

3 thoughts on “Cue the Sexy Pumpkin Music

  1. kitty says:

    pretty amazing …and interesting: all the variations on the same object! Really, I love them all! A fine new look at orange!

  2. Sundry says:

    Thanks! We were all really into this one for some reason! Silvina’s husband commented on how focused we all were when he arrived home mid-workshop. 😀

  3. seabluelee says:

    Putting the pumpkin in the box creates some interesting and moody light and shadows. Sexy is a good word for your pumpkin. Voluptuous, one might say. It looks more “real” than the photo, actually.

Leave a Reply

