A Rose By Any Other Name – Roasted Celery

P1010514

 

Okay, really the only rosey thing about this post is the shot of the base of the celery that I took after cutting off all the stalks.

Today I tried roasted celery for the first time.  I heard about it on KCRW’s Good Food podcast  and thought I’d give it a whirl. I went online and found vastly different recipes, as I’ve come to expect.

P1010520

 

I decided to blanch (cook in boiling water for 2-3 minutes) half of the celery and to just toss the other half into the oven as is. At 400 degrees for about 25 minutes. And then I put them under the broiler for about 5 minutes at the end for more carmelization.

I didn’t toss them in oil the way so many recipes suggest, but I did give the aluminum foil on my roasting sheet a little spritz of olive oil.

P1010530

 

I have to admit that the blanched celery was more satisfying. The non-blanched was chewier and not quite as tender. Either way, the stalks needed to be cut up with a knife because the strings didn’t tender up much.

The flavor was slightly nutty and sweet, as one expects with roasted veggies. Though the stalks might make a nice looking side dish, next time I make a batch of mixed roasted veggies I’ll probably just add this to the mix.

The best way to fight the sadness at seeing summer produce fade away is to roast everything!

 

One thought on “A Rose By Any Other Name – Roasted Celery

  1. […] the recent celery rose? I put it in some water and it has become something of a celery […]

Leave a Reply

