Serendipty. Not Yams.

DSC_6829

This isn’t a post about yams. This is a post about serendipity:  a “fortunate happenstance” or “pleasant surprise.”  I just didn’t have another food photo to put up. (And honestly, those are some fine yams.)

Since I started working at home full time a few months ago, I sometimes take my act on the road and spend a chunk of the day working at the library or a coffee house. I like being out where I can share random smiles with people.

I took a lunch break today at a local Thai restaurant. It was unusually busy. I took the table nearest the door, facing it.  Shortly after I ordered, a couple came in and were told it would be 5-10 minutes before a table would be available. It’s not a comfortable restaurant to wait in, so I offered to share my table with them.

They looked a bit doubtful for a second till I said, “It’s the European way!”

The man brightened, “It is!”

They took me up on my offer. So glad they did! Rod and Betty and I shared the most delightful lunch conversation. They’ve lived in Palmdale since 1969, when it was a town of about 8,000. (It’s now about 150,00.) He’s a retired pastor, she’s a semi-retired nurse at one of the big aerospace plants.

We talked about our travels in the U.S. and abroad, music, and some of the changes in the Antelope Valley.  We talked about what we like about where we live, and what we treasure about where we’re from: Indiana, Ohio and Minnesota.

It was just wonderful. I wish each of us could have an unexpected and wholly pleasing experience like this on a regular basis.

I think I know what I’m going to wish for the next time I’m standing behind a bunch of birthday candles: That I might draw more serendipity into my life.

p.s. For a good yam: Prick whole yams with a fork. Place them on a baking sheet lined with foil in a preheated 350 degree oven. Bake for about an hour, until they are very soft when you test them with a fork. Slice them into wedges like these, which reheat well or can be enjoyed as cold finger food if you’re a real veggie lover.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Serendipty. Not Yams.

  1. joan says:

    What a great way to have a good time! New friends, pleasant conversation…and fantastic looking yams! Bravo!

Leave a Reply

