Starbucked

wpid-cam00313.jpg

I admit it!  I am one of the millions of Americans who do not think that Starbucks is the devil!

(McDonald’s, however… But that’s another story.)

Yesterday I worked for a few hours at a Starbucks in Palmdale, and I really enjoyed their display of holiday mugs. Each is in a nice red box.

Genius! They not only dress up the store, but they really make my coffee and tee accoutremont-loving heart go pitty pat.

wpid-cam00314.jpg

So cute. And porcelain go-cups?  Le sigh.

wpid-cam00315.jpg

I have a basic silver version of the metal cold cup with the reusable metal straw that came out a couple of years ago, and I love it. It keeps drinks cold for a long time and it feels great in your hand.

Okay, I’m not trying to do a Starbucks ad here, but I very much appreciate how laptop friendly some of their shops are, and how they give me a place to go where I feel at home-away-from-home. I also love diners, but they are not so hang-out friendly.

Oh, and yes, I swiped this title from the book Starbucked by Taylor Clark, in which he started out not wanting to like the company and ended up being mostly won over. It’s an interesting read, if you are so inclined.

One of the things that stuck with me from the book was that the number of indie coffee houses has grown exponentially in the U.S. since Starbucks started crouching on every other urban corner. They actually helped develop the coffee house culture.

I am a long time fan of the coffee house.  Fell into the Blue Mountain Coffee Company in Fort Wayne when I was 18, and they have been a regular part of my life ever since. I’d really like to visit Vienna, the birthplace of the cofee house one day.

Anyway, I do apologize if you were trying not to see any Christmas stuff until after Thanksgiving.

One thought on “Starbucked

  1. joan says:

    Really—what a neat way to decorate for Christmas! This was a fun read…(“Le sigh”) ?) heehee

Leave a Reply

