Cooking Under Pressure

wpid-cam00414.jpgHey, is that R2-D2 in my kitchen?

I asked for this power pressure cooker for my birthday. It arrived early and Hydra didn’t make me wait to open it! Yay!

It was very intimidating at first. I had all those lingering fears of pressure cookers that a lot of people express. You know, the kind that give you visions of shrapnel flying through your kitchen.

But I joined a Facebook group called Instant Pot Vegan Recipes, and it’s been amazingly helpful. Not only are there recipes, but there are lots of little hints about how to use the darned thing that it would take forever to figure out.

wpid-cam00416.jpg

 

In spite of the information, I was physically agitated the first couple of times I used it. I tried steaming whole sweet potatoes first, and they didn’t really come out well.

But this recipe for apple/date/cinnamon steel-cut oats is a winner.

The promoters of Instant Pot are fond of saying things like “Only 4 minutes cooking time!”

Well, not really. It takes the pot up to 10 minutes to come to pressure, and then you cook whatever you’re cooking for whatever time is recommended, and then sometimes you let the pot naturally release pressure, which takes another 10-15 minutes.

BUT, these steel-cut oats were achieved in about 15 minutes, with no standing around stirring constantly.

 

P1010995

 

I know that if I get an appliance that is genuinely new to me, I had better jump in and use it right away, or I might let it languish in the cupboard. Especially a slightly scary one.

So, after having the thing for less than a week I’ve used it five times, and I’m feeling pretty comfortable with it.

These are homemade black beans, and homemade Spinach Potato Tacos from  Forks Over Knives which was adapted for the pressure cooker by Jill at Simple Daily Recipes.

It’s just amazing, the resources that are out there these days!  I learned the technique of using the saute function on the Instant Pot after the pressure cooking was done to reduce the runniness of the mix.

So far, I’m really happy with it. I’ll be giving away my old slow cooker since the Instant Pot also does that. Once I try making grains in it, I may even give away my electric steamer, which I have sworn by for a couple of decades!

Makes room in the cupboard, which is great…. Except that the pressure cooker won’t fit through my cupboard doors!  It’s on the counter till I have time to re-work the pantry.

4 thoughts on “Cooking Under Pressure

  1. joan says:

    Wow this looks great….a little daunting maybe for the nervous Nellies out here! But you’ll have it down pat in no time. Good for you—and for Hydra too!

  2. kitwocky says:

    Nice! This is one appliance that I don’t have, and I will be watching with interest as your adventures unfold. I’ve always been a bit intimated by these things, too. Way to go!

    • Sundry says:

      The power version really makes it a lot less scary to me. It’s not sitting on the stove top for me to forget. It’ll turn itself down and eventually off. Beans!

Leave a Reply

