Free Tea Be, You and Me

P1020142

Just because it’s a work day, it doesn’t mean we have to be uncivilized.

Settling in to read a new Crossing Lines script. Brewing Constant Comment today. Tea of my youth.

Remember that book, 1001 Valuable Things You Can Get Free? That book changed my life! We’d never had Constant Comment tea until we read that you could obtain a free sample by writing to the company. My mom, sister and I became lifelong fans.

I think I must have been about ten or eleven when we got our copy. I used that book to send away for things like free maps of places I thought I might like to visit or live, government publications on all kinds of subjects (from Pueblo, Colorado!) and autographed photos of actors. I have signed photos of Gene Kelly, The Smothers Brothers, Greg Morris and others.  It was a really good experience to compose letters and send them, and actually receive things in response.

P1020146

Will True sent me this tea pot for my birthday last month. What a sweet surprise!  Does he get my aesthetic, or what?

Friends are the best free thing ever.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Free Tea Be, You and Me

  1. You could invite the Queen of England to that lovely tea! Maybe some of your signed photos would fetch enough money now so that you could retire if you wanted to. 🙂

  2. kitwocky says:

    Once again, I’m reminded how much we have in common. First, I have that very same green tray with the white flowers on it (although mine is much more beat up). And Constant Comment is the tea of my youth as well, and while I adore a wide range of tea, it’s still one of my very faves. Just now finished a cup while I was reading this! Oh – and I want that tea pot. he he

    • Sundry says:

      How hice! I picked the tray up at a yard sale a couple of years ago, when I was out with LDub. I think we paid $5.00 for 6 of them. They seem to have been a staple of church kitchens at a certain point during last century.

      Nice to hear that you like Constant Comment, too. It’s a nicely balanced flavored tea!

Leave a Reply

