Milestoned – 3000th Post!

DSC_7361

This all started back in fall of 2005. My first post didn’t have a photograph. But the second one, on September 21, began a year-long commitment to take a photo a day.

I took on that challenge because I wanted to buy a nice, pricy Nikon. I didn’t want to just buy it and have it sit there staring at me like a cyclops regarding a dilettante.  I figured if I could take a photo a day for a year with my 3 megapixel Kodak, I’d figure out whether a) I’d really use a good camera, b)  I was any good at it, or c) I’d simply derive enough pleasure from it to warrent the expense.

I did it for a year, bought the camera, and continued my photo-a-day habit for another two full years.

R1-07704-011A

Me in the Kern River, photo by Hydra – cheap waterproof camera.

A lot of metaphors have passed under the bridge in the past 9 1/2 years.

A lot has changed in the writing world. It felt so good to just build a site and run with it. Putting my words and images out there without having to ask anyone’s permission felt very liberating. I started on Blogspot, but switched to WordPress in 2009.  None of the pictures from 2005 seem to be available to the blog anymore. I probably should have been backing this up somewhere, huh?

I wonder about blogging in general. All of us throwing all this material out there for free has devalued the work. Maybe I should have kept my mouth shut and my pictures to myself unless I could convince someone else to publish them. Maybe I would have had more energy to put into marketing my work if I weren’t goofing around on my blog. But then again, maybe no one would have bitten. As it is I’ve learned a lot. I think my prose style has improved, and my photographic skills, too.

I never figured out monetizing my blog. (Those Google ads you see? I get nothing from those, but I suppose they fund this amazing free adventure called WordPress.)

Focusing on one thing would have helped, but I have the curse of the generalist, I guess. I love it all! I don’t want to be held to one topic. Any Given Sundry, my own lovely little curse.

DSC_4824

My most popular post by far was “Ultimate Regifting – Artist’s Notebook,” in which I shared the sketchbook my mother, aka Kitty/Joan, returned to me. I gave it to her empty. She regifted it back to me years later, full of drawings like this one.  According to WordPress stats, more than 6,500 people have seen this post!

“Way Too Many Pictures of a Truck,” is popular, too, probably because I thought it looked like the truck from Duel. But it wasn’t. Which I admit in the post.

Pac Air

One of the biggest surprises has been the response to this snapshot I took while sitting in traffic. It’s of the old Pacific Airmotive plant. There wasn’t much online about it, but between this site and it’s mirror on Blogspot, the post itself has become a place where people who worked there comment on what a great place it was.

SM homeless

Stumbled onto this from 2006. I took that? I remember now.
It’s from “The other truth about Santa Monica.”

I was thinking about shutting down the blog earlier this year, but a few people talked me out of it. I still don’t know what I’m doing here, but I’m enjoying it.

I’ve started a few themed series. Now what do I do with them?

Taking a photo a day and sharing it, I have to admit, changed the way I look at the whole world.  When I’m out and about, I’m sometimes thinking of you, the folks who keep coming back or who pause here and say something nice. I think you might like to see this beautiful, or sad or interesting thing I found.

I also learned that the days when nothing particularly amazing is happening are often the days I find the best photos, which is why I just walked around the house and settled on the orchid for my 3000th post.

It’s been a good journey so far.

What’s next!?

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Milestoned – 3000th Post!

  1. Congratulations on you 30,000 Post. Your post would be missed if you gave up blogging.

  2. Sandi says:

    Congratulations! You are doing something you love, even though you aren’t making money at it, and that is very special.

  3. kitwocky says:

    Happy 3000!!! Thanks for not stopping, and thanks for thinking of all of us who love you and what you’re doing. xoxo

  4. Randy Myers says:

    Gracias por doing this! A labor of love is just that, so you can’t stop! The money thing is good but you never know what twists and turns will occur if you continue: If you stop nothing will happen. So, there you have it! 😉

Leave a Reply

