How Lent Went

P1020299

I made a vow on Facebook not to log onto the Internet before I start work on weekdays. I said I’d do it for a week.

Then a friend said “Why not do it for lent?” because it happened to be the day before it was supposed to start.

I’ve never observed lent before, but it sounded like a good challenge. The time frame seemed long enough to form a habit.

It was an amazingly successful experiment!

Since I started working from home full time last year, I almost always checked my work email first thing in the morning to get a feel for how busy the day ahead would be. Too often, I decided to start work early and my writing time slipped away.

It was a little hard the first few days, but my mindset shifted pretty rapidly to being excited to get up and write again. I usually wake at 6 a.m., but I don’t start work until 8 o’clock.

I even began to feel a sense of anticipation about finally getting to check my work email. EH?

Structure is important to my creative life, I guess. Some mornings I used the time to draw, and occasionally to critique my sister’s novel-in-progress. (We exchange writing. She’s a wonderful critiquer.) I did get online briefly to use a thesaurus once, but that seems like fair use. No dawdling or goofing around, though!

I think this habit is going to stick!

Leave a Reply

