All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr (review!)

All the Light We Cannot See

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Spoiler Alert: I don’t reveal plot points in this review, but I might blow some thematic discoveries you might like to make on your own. I will say that it satisfied everything I want in a novel…Good story, thought provoking, a vivid sense of its time…I could go on and on. You may want to read it beforey full review and then tell me if you agree or not!

Oh, how I love this book. Anthony Doerr spins an intricate, gripping story while inviting us to meditate on the nature of time and chance vs. destiny.

I adore a book that asks me to think big thoughts. It made me reflect on my own experience, the vast number of turns and choices I made–some consciously, some not—in order to meet the man I married, to live where I do, work at my job.Tracing it backward, it tends to feel like an impossible sequence of coincidences, or like fate.

Having just finished the book, I’m also pondering the many mysteries we live with. The things we can never know about the lives of even those with whom we are intimate.

Some of my smart, well-read friends love this, and others it didn’t grab. Just another example of the puzzle of literature.
I was so moved by the end, I teared up.

I want to read it for the first time all over again.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr (review!)

  1. ryandejonghe says:

    One of my favorite books! Incredible

  2. libbycole007 says:

    I love those books that leave you needing a quiet think at the end! Sounds great.

  3. Such a wonderful read. Love everything about this. Thanks for sharing the great review!

    If you’re ever interested in some other great book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

