Fall Invades Breakfast

20151113_064953

Tried a new recipe for Whole Grain Corn Muffins by Julieanna Hever, RD, from the Forks Over Knives website.

I really liked these, and will make them again. They are no-added fat, vegan and gluten free, per the original recipe.

Turns out the recipe is a bit flexible!  I didn’t have oat flour (realized later I could have made it from old fashioned rolled oats), so I substituted whole wheat flour.  Also, didn’t have frozen corn, so I cooked a corn on the cob I had and used that. Swoon.

I even left half of the flour out, thanks to my feathery sous chef, Dodger distracting me at a key interval, and they still came out great.

Had them for breakfast with a super-ripe hachiya persimmon.  These are the scoopable type, but I recently discovered that the skin is edible, so I just pulled it open and held it in my hand to eat it. Messy fabulousness.

5 thoughts on “Fall Invades Breakfast

  1. kitty says:

    oh this looks/sounds fabulous! I want some!

  2. LasWeezas says:

    Wow….that looks so good. You are an awesome cook.

Leave a Reply

