Being With Brian

DSC_1364

I needed to spend some time with my brother, Brian, this morning. He gave me a few key pieces of insight that I still draw upon from time to time. Since I can’t call him anymore, I drew this.

It’s from a photo he posted on Facebook a while back. A day in the early 70s (I’m guessing) when he felt good enough about himself to step into a photo booth. That’s what it took to get a selfie back then.

So glad he did.

It’s times like these when I wish I were better at drawing, but I think I did get close to his Mona Lisa smile. And the point really was to be with him for a while.

5 thoughts on “Being With Brian

  1. I love this drawing. And what a wonderful way to spend time w/ your brother who, I hope, is smiling his Mona Lisa smile wherever he is.

  2. RuthG says:

    Really nice, Sally! It’s true that making a portrait allows us to be with someone in a profound way. Blessings to you.

  3. kitty says:

    Beautiful to see. thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

