Herbie Sunshine

IMG_20160223_0001

Today would have been my dad’s 88th birthday. In this photo, I see how much my brother, Brian, took after him.

I still miss Dad sometimes. I was 29 when he died and a year away from getting my B.A. (Easily distracted, late bloomer, yada yada.)  I didn’t get to spend enough time around him as an adult.  He and Mom lived in Germany from fall of 1983-summer 1985, and Hydra and I moved to California a few weeks after they came home.

I think he would have liked the way things have gone for me in the past 26 years.

The caption on the back says, “Herb & his Scout, April 16, 1981. Leveling off back yard after septic work.” You can see the roof of the old Noble Township one-room school house in the background, across the road.

Yeah, some people called him Herbie Sunshine. Ironic?  I dunno.  He had a great sense of humor and was a great anecdotal storyteller.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Herbie Sunshine

  1. Great photo and great memories, Sally. I like to think your dad is up there in whatever land of mystery and miracles lies beyond this one, reading the current issue of The Sun with your poem in it! xoxo

  2. kitty says:

    I like this! Yeah…he would definitely be very happy & proud to see your work!

Leave a Reply

