Color Play

DSCN1148

Playing with color in my sketches.  I have mixed feelings about using color.  I like basic pen sketches a lot, but you get so much more subtlety with color, or by using a pencil. The sheen of the metallic blue tumbler in the upper left is so much more subtle than in the drawing of the Ganesha statuette two panels below it, which I didn’t think I was going to use color on.

These are really tiny drawings in a 5×7 sketchpad. I like the constrictions of these small places. While these are mostly objects in my home, these little drawings are fun to do while out and about.

DSCN1154

Full page drawing of a little wine stopper I bought at a yard sale a few years ago. The original is more charming.  Should have relied on the colored pencils more!

DSCN1156

I walked around the Pomona College campus a couple of weeks ago before a Harmonistas concert.  Then sat in a little park next to this house and thought I’d try something different. I would love to see the inside of this house.  All those windows, the dormer and the big front porch make me think I would love to live here.

 

4 thoughts on “Color Play

  1. Oooh, I love the colors!

  2. love your drawings, your very talented!xx

    http://www.lauralivinglife.com

  3. Las weezas says:

    Those color sketches are gorgeous. Am I seeing something that looks like R. Crumb??

Leave a Reply

