Friend of the Library

Books

I did something new today! I rearranged my schedule so I could volunteer at our local branch of the County of Los Angeles Public Library.  I’ve been a member of the Friends of the Library for several years, but this is the first time I’ve been able to do more than pay a membership fee.

A dozen or more volunteers showed up to set up for this weekend’s used book sale. It was a lot of fun, really.  We set up tables, labeled them with some broad categories, and started opening boxes of donations that have come in over the months. There were a couple of boxes that, if they came from one household, made me think I’d like the people who gave up these books. People criss-crossed the big room pondering categories and giving each other advise as to whether something was general fiction or a classic, etc.

When I saw that the non-fiction table was getting too full, I started organizing it into subcategories like military history, politics, science, film, etc. Some subcategories moved off to their own tables, like animal stories, biography and business.  I also organized the cookbook section and had to keep myself from picking up some of the older titles, like a couple of vintage books issued by the Mushroom Council or on party foods.

Our reward was snacks and beverages, and a big order of pizza at noon. Also the opportunity to take a couple of books home. I didn’t go looking for trouble on the other tables. I brought home two books with a promise to myself that I can donate them next time around: The Name Above the Title by Frank Capra and 1001 Things Everyone Should Know About Women’s History by Constance Jones.

I was so happily busy that I forgot to take a picture. This shot is of the books that Hydra donated. I added some more. It’s funny how unpacking his books and shepherding them to the science fiction table or elsewhere tugged at my heart. I almost sneaked Ring of Bright Water by Gavin Maxwell–a book about a man and his relationship with some Scottish otters–back home. I hadn’t seen it in years.

Really nice break in my work week.  I’m looking forward to doing it again.

4 thoughts on “Friend of the Library

  1. Las weezas says:

    Sweet post Sundry…. You contain multitudes…..you have so many varied talents and gifts.

  2. Lovely to have the time to spend with ‘old friends’. Go back for Ring of Bright Water. 🙂

Leave a Reply

